On the dysfunctional year that ends today

I woke up and started reading a couple of blogs with my morning coffee. The majority of them reminded me that this is the last day of the year. I thought of translating two small abstracts to give you an idea of how this otherwise joyous day is experienced in Greece. Yes, there’s plenty of pessimism in them.

"Disfunction" by Susana Blasco

Author and veteran blogger Nikos Dimou wrote:

I was asked to give a label on 2011. I spontaneously answered “A year lost”. Then I remembered 2010 and I added “one more”.

Greece’s most read blogger, Pitsirikos, wrote:

The year 2011 was a beautiful and “useful year”. It was the year that the Greek society had a mirror turned towards itself and was told “That’s who you are!”.

Off I go now to have my second cup of coffee in downtown Athens with one of my best friends. He was laid off three days ago.

6 responses to “On the dysfunctional year that ends today

  1. Kostas, Better New Year to you. And to Greece. Tomasz

    Like

  2. I join you in spirit for that second coffee, Kostas. And in 2012, if I may ask, could your fellow country men to pass on that mirror to a few other EU countries that I believe are in dire need of it?

    Like

  3. Appreciate your blog, Kostas. Yes, it’s good to see this dysfunctional year pass. Even though my native California is a state and not a nation, we’ve been hit hard like Greece. The dilemma is not identical but close enough for me to identify that encouraging words are not going to immediately alleviate the harsh reality of the present. Well-chosen words though, over time, inspire effective action leading to an opportunity that usually brings about an optimistic resolution to what on the surface appears insoluble. What is needed are more individuals in the world to voice them. And, also an audience to hear them. Life operates in cycles so, I believe this awful tide of economical and societal misery should begin to level then turn around over the course of the coming year. Regardless of having (lackluster, bad or mediocre) leadership, history has shown human nature strives to always improve the human condition…One way or another.

    Happy New Year ! & Ευτυχισμένο το Νέο Έτος!

    Shen in Santa Monica

    Like

Leave a Reply

