Greece presents… the Riot Granny

Yesterday I was having a talk with a very good friend. He’s a cameraman from Portugal and we have worked together on a news feature I did for the Portuguese elections last June. He was telling me that he feels that the situation in Portugal is becoming more and more like what he saw in Greece. I agreed in all but the fact the the Portuguese haven’t seen widespread violence yet. He was a bit puzzled and I explained that since last week’s general strike, I have a feeling that more and more people (everyday people, not just the so-called hooded rioters) have crossed the red line between peaceful and non-peaceful protest. Then I showed him these two photos of the same person.

The second photo was published in the front page of the right-wing Dimokratia newspaper on 21 October. His face is not important and thus I have edited it a bit. It’s interesting though to notice his clothes and wonder what drove this person to join the traditionally violent hooded crowd.

My friend was shocked. Then I showed him an even more extreme video. After Loukanikos, the rebel or riot dog, here ‘s the soon to be famous Riot Granny.

Leave a Reply

